Drops in the desert and depression awareness week *waves pom-poms*

I really, really must break my blogging drought.

I’d like to break it with something pithy, witty or maybe a useful tute or recipe.

I fear this is unlikely…

I would like to share this link the wonderful Rachel from Growing Things and Making Things left in a comment. I genuinely think watching Henri has got me through recently – I regard it as medicinal. We’ve all started soundtracking any gloomy moments, I caught Zeph doing it while regarding his toothbrush this morning. Brilliant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q34z5dCmC4M

It was  a brilliant week away – new foods were tried, museums and galleries visited. Plenty of bus and tube travel racked up – a fair amount of mooching. Nitro ice-cream was eaten. Zeph and I saw this;

http://www.auroraorchestra.com/event/peter-and-the-wolf-live-2/

Steve, J and Ida got to hang around on the Southbank in the rain waiting for us. Ida and Zeph threw tantrums. Ida sat down a lot.

I had some amazing cakes made for my birthday;

Lemon,strawberry and peppermint. Together – fantabulous. Honestly – you’re going to hear Heston chatting about them pretty soon I think…

In other news – did you know it’s depression week? – well more accurately, depression awareness week. For once I’m way ahead of the game. In case you’re not and you’d like to be more so this is a great link:

http://www.depressionalliance.org/

Depression touches all of us, I mean – you know more than five people right? – it is serious yet not the end of the world. There is help if you need it, as usual there could be more. Worst of all is the shame associated with all mental illness.

Speaking out and sharing is what scares the shame spectre away.

I live with depression, I suspect I will all my life. I am capable, strong and resourceful, my life has moments of immense joy and frequent flashes of happiness which I treasure.

I medicate and apply structures and routines that help me. I am grateful to still have my life, I value it. Depression is one part of me, it is not all that I am but I see no reason to be ashamed of it or hide that aspect of me.

The garden is looking beautiful, lots of fresh green and blossom. The showers mean everything is gleaming. The clematis that has clambered up the eucalyptus is turning its palest pink flowers to face the brief shards of sunshine. It twines serenely through the wind thrashed branches. My washed out bunting flaps wildly, we’re all waiting for sunnier days.

I’m sure they’ll be here soon.

 

 

6 responses to “Drops in the desert and depression awareness week *waves pom-poms*

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed Henri (“enjoy” – that’s such a weak word!) – I love him! I’ve another link for you, seeing as it’s depression week. This is the most awesome post about depression I’ve ever read:
    hyperbole and a half

    While you’re there have a look at the rest of her blog, too, though there is a danger of spending many hours reading all her brilliantly funny stories.

    • :)Genuis link – another thank you! Juice came out of my nose at the bit about the pile of clothes abandoned. *putting a hand on her eye twitch as she glances around the chaotic house*

  2. Ooh! I’ll have to check Henri out, just wanted to say hello, and how glad I am to see another post of yours, a blogging drought is a good way to describe that absence isn’t it. Lorna x

    • Thank you Lorna – I really appreciate that, sometimes life just seems to overwhelm. Henri is very welcome light relief here at the moment :) I hope he makes you smile.

  3. Your garden description is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

