Day THIRTY

Look – LOOK! – thirty poems in thirty days. (Admittedly, not every day…) It still feels like a very small, personal miracle. Personally – I take my wonders where I find them. I have so enjoyed NaPoWriMo and loved the prompts set every day.

The last prompt is to take a short poem and invert each word to turn it inside out. I’ve chosen;

The Taxi

Amy Lowell  

From Sword Blades and Poppy Seeds By Amy Lowell

 

If you come towards me

Space lifts silent life

Unlike a taut string.

You whisper against me away from inverted dark matter

Or murmur out of the furrows little calm.

Fields leaving slowly,

Many before included,

 

Press me closer to you,

Shadows of the country smother my ears

Now you can be blind to the back of my head.

Than shouldn’t you come to me?

to heal yourself beneath the soft centres of the day.

 

4 responses to “Day THIRTY

  1. Whoo hoo! You did it!!!

    Not only did you write thirty poems, but most of them are…

    I don’t have words. You’re the poet, not me. They send shivers down my spine. Especially Day 29, which I just read. And quite a few of the others, which I read at other times.

    You are awesome.

    • Rachel you really are the most lovely and supportive person. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate the comments – I actually write poems (ha!) quite a lot but mostly they join the other stuff under my bed- its been brilliant launching them out into the ether. Gawd bless NaPoWriMo :) Its also taken the edge of my bog aversion. Hope the sun is shining where you are.

  2. your poems make me feel sad
    i don’t know if that’s good or bad

    • nice poem :) …deffo better than bored stiff I think. I like poems that make my throat feel tight – some I like because they’re clever and crafted, beautiful. Sometimes it’s because they feel brilliant to say/shout outloud and some feel like they’ve rung me – like i’m a bell.

Leave a Reply

