Chilli

I’ve been meaning to write out this recipe for ages. Everyone has their own way of doing chilli and this is mine. I do realise bits of it sound weird but the kids and most people love it. I haven’t got photos to go with it but, as you may guess, I’m cheating my (unspoken, shhh) resolution to post everyday by scheduling some for when we’re away…. sorry if it’s a bit boring. It tastes great.

I did once dedicate a whole weekend to making a proper mole and it was amazing – but this is pretty good too with much less work. Which, obviously- being lazy and greedy, I like!

  • Beef mince or stewing beef or a mix of both.
  • Bacon lardons or chopped cooking chorizo.
  • 1 large onion.
  • 1 carrot.
  • Few stalks of celery.
  • Some (to your taste) cloves of garlic, crushed then chopped.
  • Chopped fresh chilli.
  • Chopped whatever veg you have or prefer; peppers, mushrooms, courgettes.
  • Tin of chopped tomatoes.
  • Tin of kidney beans (sometimes I use black eyed or aduki beans)
  • Squeeze of tomato puree.
  • A tsp of these spices; paprika (smoked if possible) ground cumin and a tsp of dried oregano.
  • A pinch of; cinnamon (sometimes I’d use a stick here instead) fennel seeds, two cloves, dried chilli flakes (if you like it hot or you didn’t have any fresh) and ground ginger. oh and salt and pepper.
  • Some dark cooking chocolate, a few chunks, if I don’t have any I use a couple of tsp of coca and a tsp of sugar
  • Then (here it gets odd) tsp instant coffee granules, or a splash of good espresso or freshly ground.
  • a big dollop of peanut butter ( I use crunchy whole nut stuff)

So, fry off the bacon/chorizo then add mince/beef and brown.

Add chopped onion, carrot, celery and crushed garlic and chilli. Gently fry for about five mins.

Add your other choices of veg.

Fry a bit more…

Add tomatoes,puree then beans. I always swill the tomato tin out with water, adding another full tins worth of liquid. A splash of red wine never hurt anyone. Or indeed  a splash of bourbon.

Add the spices and as many of the odd amendments as you like.

Leave on a slow simmer for as long as possible. Adjusting liquid as necessary. I just top up from the kettle as I pass.

Honestly it’s lovely. We usually do the first day with rice and various salad stuffs. Avocados and sour cream or yoghurt. Then the next day with jacket potatoes or as wraps. Or wedges… sweet potatoes are good. As you see it’s chillyfest versatile. On a good day I’ll often do festivals with them which are LOVELY. I make them like this ( I suspect it’s not “proper”)

  • 125g plain flour
  • 125g cornmeal
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar

Mix all the dry together, add cold water to make a dough. With floured hands pinch out a spoonful roll into a cigar shape. Shallow fry in sunflower oil turning until puffed and golden. Drain on paper – serve. A luxury addition but mmmmmmm. Like little quick cornbreads.

Might have to go make some toast now. Oh and Happy Birthday Steve – mwahx

2 responses to “Chilli

  1. I can vouch for the yumminess of all Laura’s recipies. Num num num !

  2. This is a very odd recipe but I am dying to try it!

Leave a Reply

