Ta da! Chicken…

Well sorry about that hiatus. The computer monitor blew up. Literally. Sparks and all.

 At first I felt really devastated at ruining my new years resolution but it soon passed – ha! Luckily I’m not the kind of person who can’t flex with circumstances, in fact that’s pretty much my life plan so I’m posting twice tonight which makes everything straight in my mind. Phew.

So here’s the Jerk chicken:

You’ll note the fridge shot is close enough that you can’t see how badly my fridge needs cleaning. Ahem.

This is heart pleasingly easy. The night before take some chicken portions. I use a mix of thighs and drumsticks but use whatever you like, it works with skinless as well. Hurl into freezer bag, squeeze in half a lemon, jig about. Slop in half a big pot of natural yoghurt and 1 – 3 teaspoons of jerk mix from a jar. It depends how hot you like it and which type you prefer. I use Walkerwood from preference but most are yummy. Squish around chicken until all lovely and mixed up then sling into fridge overnight.

When you’re ready to cook, fish out each bit and put into roasting tray. Keep the bag of marinade.  I add a couple of chillies and some fresh thyme. Then cook at a medium heat. At about 20 minutes in  I turn the chicken pieces over and pour a spoonful of marinade on to the top of each piece. Ten minutes before the end I pour the rest of the marinade in and add some chopped coriander.

Mmmm – I’m hungry again… so last but definitely not least; Festivals…

On a good day I’ll often do festivals with them which are LOVELY. I make them like this ( I suspect it’s not “proper”)

  • 125g plain flour
  • 125g cornmeal
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar

Mix all the dry together, add cold water to make a dough. With floured hands pinch out a spoonful roll into a cigar shape. Shallow fry in sunflower oil turning until puffed and golden. Drain on paper – serve. A luxury addition but mmmmmmm. Like little quick cornbreads.

Lifted this from my post about chilli… but here’s a picture of the dough. (I know, swoon..)

This meal makes me feel summery – The chicken is pretty hot but the mealiness of the plaintain and the sweet festivals and fresh salsa balance it all out. I can’t make small quantities of it so it’s always a packed table and feels festive. What more can you ask of food?

Leave a Reply

