Liebster Love

I’ve been too long getting to posting this – half term got in the way… My only excuse and it’s very poor.   😦

Earlier this month the very delicious Round the World in Eighty Bakes nominated my blog for a liebster which is hugely kind of her and made my week. It even eased the pain of a loss of another tooth which just proves how happy it made me frankly!

The Liebster Award is a meme award which helps spread the word of new blogs. It’s to spread the word about the new blogs you enjoy reading and the rules are straightforward, link to the blog  that nominated you and pass the award to five other blogs with less than 200 followers saying why you love reading them. Oh and leave them a comment saying that you have.  Ta Da!

Well the first bit is easy – Round the World in Eighty Bakes   follows a resourceful and indomitable woman in her baking adventures (which includes Jam – obviously.  Although I am feeling a bit sore about Jam as having recently found myself with a pan full of fruit sauce that refused to set…)  I  genuinely love reading this blog – it fills me with admiration and recognition and fills my heart with joy that someone else out there thinks, Bugger I’ve left out the sugar or hmm, I don’t have that, surely this will do…  This is what baking in the real, tiny work surfaced, world is like and it all still tastes delicious. Which her creations certainly look. I’m also very interested in that kneading board…. This blog is so much more than just recipes, check it out.

Okay now five others – this bit is trickier – mainly because I find making choices awfully difficult. Also sometimes it’s hard to tell if blogs fit the criteria. A lot of the ones that spring to mind are not that new but they are new(ish) to me and don’t seem to have tons and tons of followers although not everyone lists their stats. Ah well – it’s all meant with oodles of love so how could anyone take that amiss…

Kate on thin Ice

I love this blog. Her posts are articulate, moving, hilarious and inspiring. What more do you want!? She’s runs a couple of fantastic blog hops,the one I love most is grooving mums which is about keeping hold of or finding yourself in amongst the maelstrom of parenting. She’s a deep thinking free spirit – how can you not respect and admire that? Also she listed me in a recent post about blogs she was reading and apart from her obviously staggering good taste *cough* her kind words have kept me buoyed up over some grey moments recently.

I need curtains for the window in my head

This is one I’m a bit worried could be too big.. but what the hell! I love visiting here. There’s certain to be something pleasing, interesting or thought-provoking. Part of my early morning lottery win imagining list is when I ask her to fill my home with beautiful things. All the stuff she wants – I want it too! I think she has a decided quirky creative sense of style that I identify with. Her Doodlers Corner is always so interesting and her obvious love of beauty is as admirable and inspiring as her up front honesty about mental health issues. Something which strikes really strong chords with me.

The Alexander Residence

Possibly cheating here as Penny nominated me for this award earlier in the year but I love to click on Alexander Residence. So often what she writes resounds with me, heart and soul. Her vlogs are fantastic and often so very funny. I’ve recently contributed a couple of times to Little Legacies  her weekly Meme. I can’t tell you how often posts here, hers and others, have moved me to tears and how much they’ve reminded me and marked my path on the journey of living in the moment. It’s an astounding project of love, strength, grief and joy. Definitely worth a look.

Master of a Thousand Things

She truly is – there’s so much good stuff on this blog. Brilliant recipes, knitting and crochet, gorgeous photography. I really enjoy these looks into a truly creative life. I’m also in awe at her ability to commit to challenges and keep to them.  I love her step by step posts about projects that make me feel like I too may actually one day follow a pattern successfully. Fabulous.

Georgina Giles – and sew to work

I wished I lived nearer to Southsea so I could go to some of the workshops and teashops Georgina talks about in her posts.  Full of gorgeous fabrics and buttons and details that immensely please a deep-seated primitive need in me to fill jam jars with trinkets, braid and trimmings. Scrumptious – I am torn between excitement about the opening of her Etsy shop and fear of late night impulse internet shopping…

Phew. There’s a gorgeous fiveful. Have a click around. These things are great for finding new people and places to connect with and of course for spreading love. Which is no bad thing eh?

4 responses to “Liebster Love

  1. Thank you Laura. I love discovering new blogs and the ones you mention are always so interesting and inspiring. Big love. Xxx

  2. Thank you very much for your extremely kind words! I love that you love my blog 🙂 and I’ve found a few new blogs to add to my reader as well ♥

  3. You just made me day and on a day when I needed a lift. I read what you said about me and my husband said “Why does that description surprise you? I have known that about you for years” which tonight makes me doubly blessed. One day, you and I will meet and break all the rules my dear. Hope you will turn up at Britmums as in a moment of self-belief (rare) I agreed to speak and will now spend the next few months in blind panic but a good sort of panic I suppose. Very thrilled cos as my husband says it is the calibre of people that say nice things that matters and in your care you are right up there on my wishlist of greats.

  4. Thank you so much for your lovely words about my blog. You know how much I lieb yours too! Some lovely new finds here, and a couple I already know and love x

Leave a Reply

